Serbia eyes Kosovo border review, opposed by Merkel    

Objavljeno : 17.08.2018. Štampa El. pošta bookmark
 

Serbia’s political life is heating up in August as discussions about its relations with Kosovo have reached frantic speed, varying from a possible partition of its former province to exchange of territory and border changes.

 

A comprehensive agreement with Kosovo, whose 2008 independence Serbia does not recognise, is one of the prerequisites for Belgrade’s progress in moving towards membership of the European Union, which the country has been negotiating since 2014.

 

In a rare public comment on Serbia-Kosovo coming from Europe, German Chancellor Angela Merkel said she was opposed to the idea of tinkering with borders in the Balkans.

 

Serbian President Aleksandar Vučić, who wants the Serbia-Kosovo border to be reviewed,  conceded that the entire western world saw Kosovo as an independent, sovereign and indivisible territory, but he also said that a final solution for Kosovo would not be found quickly.

 

“I advocate, and that is my policy, demarcation with the Albanians. The fact that we have a territory where it is not known what belongs to whom, that is always a cause of potential conflict,” Vučić said this month.

 

He added that he could not talk about the content of his negotiations with the Kosovo Albanians because that would reveal Serbia’s cards in the negotiations, but said that the future agreement between Belgrade and Priština would be a comprehensive package “which is not as simplified and as simple as some imagine.”

 

Ten years ago Kosovo declared independence, which has been recognised by the majority of the world’s countries, including 23 of the 28 EU member states.

 

After a meeting with the head of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denis Zvizdić, early this week in Berlin, the German Chancellor said that no borders would be changed in the Balkans and that it seemed that “this has to be reiterated every time.”

 

Merkel also said that all of the Western Balkan countries still had EU membership prospects and stressed the importance of cooperation between the countries.

 

Kosovo President Hashim Thaci welcomed the German chancellor’s statement.

 

“All that needs to be done is for the majority of EU member states to convince the five that do not recognise Kosovo, as well as Serbia, to recognise Kosovo within these borders. The sooner that happens, the better it will be for the region,” Thaci tweeted.

 

Thaci told the Belgrade-based Danas newspaper that Serbia and Kosovo were in a critical period of the dialogue, but added that he thought he and the Serbian president were willing not to let the past block the future or jeopardise peace in the region for the next five or 50 years.

 

The Serbian and Kosovo presidents are to meet at the start of September in Brussels, where they are holding the EU-mediated talks on the normalisation of relations.

 

European Commission officials have said that a lasting solution for Kosovo meant a possible, sustainable and realistic solution in line with international law, on which Priština and Belgrade should reach an agreement.

 

Source: EURACTIV.rs

Foto: Beta/Sinhua

 

 
 
Pošaljite komentar
Pošaljite komentar


 

Partneri


25.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS
25 - 26.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP i TEN
24.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Fridrih Ebert
01.10.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Tempus
18.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: UNDP i Vlada Švajcarske
14.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Bitef i EU info centar
14.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU i Ministarstvo pravde
13.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BOŠ i Kancelarija za saradnju sa civilnim društvom
07.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: FREN i SeCons
04.09.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Tim Noći istraživača
12.07.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
11.07.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
03.07.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Balkanmagazin
28.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Istinomer i Crta
28.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP i EU info centar
27.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS, Fondacija Fridrih Ebert
27.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Projektni tim, Švajcarska kancelarija za saradnju i Ministarstvo energetike
22.06.2018, Beč
Organizator: Energetska zajednica
21.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS
20.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BCBP
21.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BOŠ
15.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP
14.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BCBP
15.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Fridrih Ebert
13.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS i FPN
12.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Savet Evrope i Delegacija EU
12.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Fridrih Ebert
01.06.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Green European Foundation
24.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Kancelarija Vlade za saradnju sa civilnim društvom
21.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEDEF
17.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP, EFB
16.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
16.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
16.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Centar za spoljnu politiku
14.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija 27
10.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: AŽC, UŽ Peščanik
09.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar i Delegacija EU u Srbiji
10.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Fridrih Ebert i Centar za spoljnu politku
10.05.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS, FEFA
25.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: USAID, EPuS, CEP
25.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: ISAC fond
23.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: NKEU
24.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: REECO Srbija
20.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Udruženja
16.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, EU info centar i Kolarčeva zadužbina
13.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija prEUgovor
13.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Fridrih Ebert
16. i 17.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EFB
11.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP
11.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Beogradski centar za ljudska prava
12.04.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS
23.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Beogradski centar za ljudska prava
16.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU u Srbiji, EU info centar
13.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CEP, TEN, BENCHER
13.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: ISAC fond
14.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar i PLAC II
08.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Balkanmagazin i EPS
08.03.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Francuski institut u Srbiji
27.02.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Evropska fondacija za demokratiju
13.02.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BCBP
08.02.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Evropska platforma za ZB
07.02.2018, Beograd
Organizator: CFP, Fondacija Hans Zajdel
01.02.2018, Beograd
Organizator: BCBP
30. i 31.01.2018, Beograd
Organizator: MDULS, ReSPA
24.1.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Tempus - Erazmus+
16.1.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Ambasada Bugarske
17.01.2018, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija za REKOM
21.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: POINTPULS i RAI
19.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija prEUgovor
14.12.2017, Priština
Organizator: Energetska zajednica
13.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar, CAPE
13.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS
08.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS, EIB
08.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Savet Evrope, EU
07.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, EU Info centar, KCSD, Fondacija Divac
05.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: POINTPULS, BCBP, BIRN, TS
06.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS
05.12.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU i RZS
29.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS i Fondacija Fridrih Ebert
17.11..2017, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija 27
15.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, UNDP
15.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Balkanmagazin
14.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, Ministarstvo rada, EU info centar
07.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, EU info centar, PKS
03.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: ISAC fond i Fondacija Fridrih Ebert
01.11.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Evropski pokret u Srbiji
31.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EPuS i FPN
01 - 02.11.2017, Novi Sad-Beograd
Organizator: Francuski institut
25.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Koalicija prEUgovor
24.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Evropski pokret u Srbiji
23.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: RYCO
17.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Tempus
12.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Građanske inicijative
11.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: TACSO
10.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU i Tim UN
09.10.2017, Brisel
Organizator: Savet za regionalnu saradnju
06.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Tempus
05.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Forum za međunarodne odnose Evropskog pokreta u Srbiji i Fondacija Fridirh Ebert
02.10.2017, Beograd
Organizator: CZKD
28.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Tempus
26.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EUNIC Srbija
22.09.2017, Novi Sad
Organizator: CINS
21.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Ministarstvo pravde
20.09.2017, Pančevo
Organizator: Gradska uprava Pančeva
19.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU, EU info centar i SKGO
18.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: BOŠ i Kancelarija za saradnju sa civilnim društvom
15.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Beograd Prajd
14.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: POINTPULS i BCBP
15.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Delegacija EU u Srbiji
14.09.2017, Vlasinsko jezero
Organizator: Evropski PROGRES
13.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Centar za spoljnu politiku
06.09.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Ujedinjene nacije
05.09.2017, Beč
Organizator: Energetska zajednica
25.08.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Balkanmagazin i EPS
25.07.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Beogradski centar za bezbednosnu politiku
06.07.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Ministarstvo zaštite životne sredine i Nacionalni konvent
04.07.2017, Beograd
Organizator: ISAC fond i Fridrih Ebert fondacija
30.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Centar za spoljnu politiku i Fridrih Ebert fondacija
22.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: CEP, EU Info centar
22.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
22.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Fondacija Hajnrih Bel
15 - 17.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Evropa Nostra, Evropa Nostra Srbija, Mreža za nasleđe JIE
14.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Ambasada Italije u Srbiji
15.06.2017, Beograd
Organizator: Novinska agencija Beta
18.05.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
18.05.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EU info centar
25.05.2017, Beograd
Organizator: EU Info centar

PROJEKTI I KONKURSI

EurActiv franšiza za Srbiju:
Novinska agencija BETA, direktor: Radomir Diklić, glavni i odgovorni urednik: Dragan Janjić
Novinska Agencija Beta
Developed by Zorica Filipović, Predrag Tošić
EKO ZNACKA